Oklahoma producers now have more insurance options for sorghum with RMA’s decision to allow for producers in the following counties to insure double-cropped grain sorghum with a written agreement.

The producer can visit with their crop insurance agent about securing the written agreement, which requires at least three years of production history of double cropping. The added counties for 2011 are Alfalfa, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Grant, Haskell, Hughes, Kay, Le Flore, Mayes, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington.

Also in the counties of Alfalfa, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Noble, Osage, Pawnee and Payne, the earliest planting date has been moved to April 26. By moving the earliest planting date, RMA recognizes the importance of letting producers plant their sorghum earlier and still have coverage for replanting.