State Representative Rick Hardcastle was named the 2011 Wheat Man of the Year during the annual Commodity Symposium Reception, held Nov. 29, in Amarillo. The award is sponsored by the Texas Wheat Producers Board (TWPB).

Hardcastle was first elected to the state legislature in 1998 and represents District 68, which consists of 16 counties in north and west Texas. In 2011 he was appointed Chairman of the Agriculture and Livestock Committee. During that time he has dutifully served his constituents and Texas agricultural producers.

“Representative Hardcastle is an outstanding leader for agriculture and the wheat industry in Texas,” TWPB Executive Vice President Rodney Mosier said.  “Through his role in the state legislature and as the Chairman of the Agriculture and Livestock Committee he has continually fought to protect the integrity of agricultural operations across the state.” 

The annual award presented by the TWPB honors agricultural leaders for their dedication and service to Texas wheat producers.

The Texas Wheat Producers Board is a statewide board funded by a voluntary two cent per bushel checkoff program. Checkoff funds are used for research, market development and education to further the wheat industry in Texas and support the profitability of wheat producers. For more information, visit