Texas soybean farmers have the opportunity to join the ranks of other soybean leaders, determine how to invest soybean checkoff dollars and serve as a farmer-leader on the Texas Soybean Board (TSB).

Interested candidates must be a Texas soybean farmer and submit a nomination form with 10 soybean producer signatures to the TSB office by Nov. 1.The election is open to all state soybean producers and the vote will be held by mail on Dec. 15, 2010.

“TSB is looking for soybean farmers to help direct the soybean checkoff dollars,” says Tom Rotello, TSB chairman and farmer from Navasota. “Our board funds research conducted in the state to help create profit opportunities for all Texas soybean farmers.”

The nine-member board makes important decisions and directs the investment of the state’s soybean checkoff dollars in production research, animal agriculture, biodiesel education and other areas.

The elected positions are voluntary and meet two to three times a year at various locations within the state, with travel and expenses provided during these business meetings. Each term is six years long.

This year, five directors will be elected, and positions are open to any Texas soybean farmer in the specific district. The following list indicates the districts and positions available:

2 High Plains Producers

  • Andrews, Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Castro, Carson, Cochran, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Floyd, Gaines, Glasscock, Gray, Hale, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Terry and Yoakum counties.

1 Northeast Texas Producers

  • Bowie, Collin, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Hopkins, Hunt, Lama, and Red River counties.

2 At-Large Producers

  • All soybean counties in Texas.

Contact the TSB staff at 1-800-247-8691 and they will put you in touch with a current board member to learn more.

Anyone wishing to run for a position on the board should apply to TSB by Nov. 1, by contacting the office at 1-800-247-8691 or e-mail TSB Executive Director Dawn Howe at swsoy@aristole.net.