Ronald D. Lacewell, professor in resource economics in the Department of Agricultural Economics at Texas A&M University, was named recipient of the 2011 Norman Borlaug Lifetime Achievement Award from the Texas Plant Protection Association at the organization’s annual conference in Bryan, Texas.

The award is the association’s tribute for members who, over many years, have made special contributions to the annual conference and to Texas agriculture. It is named in honor of the late Dr. Normal Borlaug, agriculture researcher and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. He was known as the “Father of the Green Revolution,” and completed his career as a member of the Texas A&M University staff.

Lacewell is assistant vice chancellor in the Office of Federal Relations at Texas A&M AgriLife.His research centers on the areas of irrigation, farming systems, water quality, new crops and renewable energy.

Lacewell serves as the leader of federal relations for Texas A&M AgriLife, leading a team to address initiatives, partnering and acting as liaison to federal agencies and Congress. The Office of Federal Relations was established to support College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas AgriLife Research, and Texas AgriLife Extension Service programs at the federal level.

He has been on the TPPA board of directors for more than 10 years and has been responsible for securing many outstanding keynote speakers such as Norman Borlaug, Texas Commissioner of Agriculture Todd Staples and American Farm Bureau President Bob Stallman. He also has served as the chairman of the awards committee for several years.

“Dr. Lacewell is aware of the topics that are important to Texas agriculture,” says TPPA Executive Director Bob Sasser. “His leadership has assisted the association to continue to grow in size and in quality.”

Other TPPA awards included: Industry, Mark Spilman, Rice Tec; Academic, Tom Isakeit, Texas AgriLife Extension; Consultant, Cliff Mock, Mock Consulting; and graduate student, Ben McKnight, Texas A&M University.

Brittany Sousa won first place in the poster contest for her poster: Photocatalytic Degradation of Mycotoxin in Corn used for Bio-fuel Production.

Zachary Elder received second place in the poster contest and Joseph Storlien placed third.

Vernon Langston, Dow AgroScience , succeeds Danny Fromme, Texas AgriLife Extension, as TPPA president.