Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman announced the appointment of six members and six alternate members to the Cotton Board. The Cotton Board consists of 33 members, their alternates and one consumer advisor, who represent cotton producers, and importers and consumers.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve and provide their expertise to the program,” Veneman said of the new members of the board, which is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966.

Members and alternates named today will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2006.

The re-appointed member is: Tamsin Randlett, San Francisco, Calif.

The re-appointed alternate members are: William Harris, Benton, Miss.; Kervin Frysak, Garden City, Texas; and Carlos Moore, Vienna, Va.

The newly appointed members are: Kevin Rogers, Mesa Ariz.; Charlotte Mathis, Moultrie, Ga.; Tom Gary, Greenwood, Miss.; Roger Blackwelder, Rotan, Texas; and Sonja Chapman, Boonton, N.J.

The newly appointed alternate members are: Walter Heiden, Arlington, Ariz.; George Horne, Doerun, Ga.; and Janet Ydavoy, Ft. Myers, Fla.

The Cotton Research and Promotion Program strives to advance cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by a mandatory assessment on all domestic cotton and imports.