Just hours after the federal government shutdown Tuesday and the 2008 farm bill extension expired, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid moved toward a new farm bill conference committee by re-appointing Senate conferees.

The move came after the House, three days earlier, passed a rule that rejoined farm and nutrition programs into a comprehensive farm bill for the Senate to consider.

More on the farm bill and government shutdown here, here and here.

The Senate conferees are: Michigan Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran, Arkansas Sen. John Boozman, Georgia Sen. Saxby Chambliss, Vermont Sen. Patrick Leahy, Iowa Sen. Tom Harkin, Montana Sen. Max Baucus, Kansas Sen. Pat Roberts, Ohio Sen. Sherrod Brown, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Colorado Sen. Michael Bennet, and North Dakota Sen. John Hoeven.

The House conferees are yet to be named.

For more on this story check here.


More from Southwest Farm Press:

Affordable Care Act offers options for rural residents

How will government shutdown affect agriculture?

Republicans currently have edge for mid-term elections