In national policy, delegates made technical adjustments to ensure crop insurance works better for Texas farmers. They also supported development of the 2012 Farm Bill focused on the following principles:

  • If direct and/or counter-cyclical payments are eliminated or the loss is inevitable, support an enhanced revenue-based risk management program, including livestock and forage losses that would provide adequate producer risk mitigation.
  • Conservation programs should be adequately funded with emphasis on the Environmental Quality Incentive Program (EQIP).
  • Continued use of the commodity marketing loan program that accurately reflects the cost of production.

It a three-way race, Kenneth Dierschke, a grain and cotton farmer from San Angelo, was elected to his 10thconsecutive one-year term as Texas Farm Bureau president. Upon adjournment of the meeting, the board reelected Dewey Hukill of Lamb County as vice president. They chose Russell Boening of Wilson County as secretary-treasurer.


New state directors include:

  • Robert Gordon, a corn, wheat and sorghum producer representing District 1. A member of the Dallam County Farm Bureau, Gordon and his wife, Patricia, have three children and three grandchildren.
  • Michael White, a wheat and cotton farmer and cattleman representing District 3.  A member of the Wilbarger County Farm Bureau, White and his wife, Susan, have two children.
  • Albert Thompson and his wife, Deanna, raise cattle and timber near Nacogdoches. A member of the Nacogdoches County Farm Bureau and representing District 9, Thompson will fill the remainder of the term of Jay Snook, who passed away in September.
  • Bob Reed, a rice, soybean and sorghum farmer representing District 11. A member of the Matagorda County Farm Bureau, Reed and his wife, Debbie, have three children.

Board members reelected to two year terms include:  Dan Shelton, a hay and cattle producer from De Kalb, District 5; Dave Edmiston, who runs a cow/calf, wildlife and hay operation near Brady, District 7; and Dale Murden, who grows sugarcane, citrus, grains, vegetables and soybeans near Monte Alto, District 13.