Important meetings, trade shows, field days and conferences for those involved in Southwest agriculture. To list your organization’s special event in the Southwest Farm Press Calendar of Events, e-mail details, including contact person, phone number, etc., to: Ron Smith, rsmith@farmpress.com.

Dec. 17--New Mexico growers will have a chance to learn the latest on topics ranging from soil conservation and alternative crops to the use of unmanned aircraft systems for rangeland monitoring during the annual New Mexico Sustainable Agriculture Conference Dec. 17 in Roswell. Contact Stephanie Walker, 575-646-4398, swalker@nmsu.edu

January 2015

January 27 & 28--2015 Red River Crops Conference January 27 & 28 2015 Childress Texas. The agenda has been set for the conference. For further details please contact: Jerry Goodson,OSU S.W. Research & Extension Center,16721 US Hwy. 283 Altus, Oklahoma  (580) 482-8880 office; (580) 482-0208 fax; (580) 471-8969 mobile

February 2015

Feb. 10, 11, 12, 13-- A series of four K-State Sorghum Production Schools will be offered in mid-February 2015 to provide in-depth training for sorghum producers. The schools are sponsored by the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission.The dates and locations are:

  • Feb. 10: Garden City, Clarion Inn, 1911 E Kansas Ave
    Local Research and Extension office contacts:
    Andrea Burns, Ford County, aburns@ksu.edu 620-227-4542
    Barbara Addison, Finney County,baddison@ksu.edu 620-272-3670
  • Feb. 11: Oakley, Buffalo Bill Center, 3083 U.S. 83
    Local Research and Extension office contact:
    Julie Niehage, Golden Prairie District, Oakley, julienie@ksu.edu 785-671-3245
  • Feb. 12: Hutchinson, Hutchinson Community College, 1300 N Plum St
    Local Research and Extension office contact: 
    Darren Busick, Reno County, darrenbusick@ksu.edu 620-662-2371
  • Feb. 13: Ottawa, Neosho County Community College, 900 E Logan St
    Local Research and Extension office contact:
    Darren Hibdon, Frontier District, dhibdon@ksu.edu 785-229-3520

For more information, contact: Ignacio Ciampitti, K-State Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist, ciampitti@ksu.edu 785-532-6940.

March, 2015

March 26-28-- The Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) will host the inaugural VIVA Fresh Conference and Expo March 26-28, 2015, at the Hilton Austin in Austin, Texas. The expo will highlight the “Gateway to the Americas,” and will showcase produce grown in the Southwestern United States and Mexico.

The new VIVA Fresh Expo was created to take advantage of the trend to offer more intimate and affordable regional tradeshows that allow vendors and customers to create networking opportunities that highlight products and build relationships. The new show replaces TIPA’s former Texas Produce Convention. For more information, contact Bret Erickson at bret.erickson@texipa.org.